If this type of alert pops up, DON’T click on it!

You’re working at your computer when all of the sudden – BAM! – you get a pop-up notification that your PC is infected with a virus and you must “click here” to run a scan or install antivirus software. This is a common scareware tactic used by hackers to get you to click and download a virus. (You should know we would NEVER deliver that type of pop-up to you!)

Often it will appear to be a system alert or a Microsoft operating system alert. Regardless of how legitimate it looks, NEVER click on the site or the pop-up. The safest thing to do is close your browser; do not click on the X, “Close” or “Cancel” button in the pop-up or on the site because clicking on anything on the page or pop-up will trigger a virus download. If that won’t work, bring up your task manager (hold Control + Alt + Delete on a PC and Command + Option + Esc to “Force Quit” on a Mac) and close the web browser or application where it appeared. Next, notify your IT department that this has happened so we can double-check with a legitimate scan if your computer was infected.

Don’t have someone to keep your network safe from scareware? We’d love to help! Give us a call today at 817-500-5945.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

THE TOP 5 TECH CHALLENGES FACING SMALL BUSINESSES

Fill out the form to download your FREE copy, no strings attached
  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.
Copyright 2020 M3 Networks. All Rights Reserved.
Scroll to Top